top of page

Interpersonal Communication: The fourth letter in S.P.R.I.N.T.

Interpersonal Communication: The fourth letter in S.P.R.I.N.T.

When we talk about communication and relationships, one of the most common things we hear is… “Communication is the key to happy, healthy relationships.” But, what is communication? Are we really communicating or are we just exchanging information?

Communicating in your relationship is about connecting to that individual. It is about speaking a language that both of you understand. It can be verbal, it can be written, it can be physical. If you are saying something, make sure you are conveying what you are trying to say, don’t expect your partner to guess how you feel.

I am sure that some of you are familiar with Gary Chapman and “The 5 Love Languages”. This book is filled with simple ideas about saying things and hearing things CLEARLY with your partner. It’s about how all of us as humans speak different languages. When it comes to love and communication, your emotional language could be different from your partner. Author Gary Chapman breaks it down to 5 “love” languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. You don’t necessarily need to limit love languages to these five things but, take the time to learn what fills your partner up and take the time to tell your partner what fills YOU up.

I know that my husband’s cup will be filled to the rim if I show my appreciation to him by performing small “acts of service”. If he opens his sock drawer and it’s completely filled to the top with clean, paired socks he lights up. If we are working around the house on a busy day and I stop to prepare his favorite sandwich without him asking, he lights up. If he comes home after a long day and I have taken the garbage out our long driveway (a task he usually completes), he lights up.

Light your partner up!!! Thrive on giving them pleasure and bringing them joy!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page